Tired.

The word today is “charm,” with a proverb that warns about charming women, and honestly, I just don’t have it in me tonight to tackle that one. I am so tired. So I decided my word tonight is TIRED.

This brings me to one of my very favorite, most comforting verses, one that just makes me take a deep breath of gratitude.

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” (Matthew 11:28-30)

This is such a generous, loving promise. That’s not an exhortation, telling us Jesus will give us energy to serve when we’re weary, though that may be true sometimes. This verse simply promises that He will give me rest. When I’m weary, I’m tired out from caregiving for my child with disabilities. I’m exhausted from spreading myself too thin with work, family and the rest of life. I’m dehydrated because I forget to drink water. Jesus knows that combination of bad choices and “just how life is” can wear us down, and in those moments, Jesus will simply give us rest.

Rest well, my friend, and know you are loved.

Published by

Beth DeHoff

An imperfect, broken Christian writing for other imperfect, broken people.

Leave a comment